soufriere1

Talk to your hearts content.....but keep it sweet! No record sales, live events listings or ebay labba labba. Posts which break these rules will be deleted without warning and continued offences may result in a ban.

Moderator: cheyenne

soufriere1

Postby iriedaily » Fri Sep 15, 2006 7:16 am

Anyone seen him online lately?
Bought 3 12'' from the man and still waiting for them. Saw that there were other people with the same problem but I wanted to be sure that I expected enough before posting. I saw that he had/has some personal problems. If so I am sorry about it but he should PM/mail about it and say that there is a delay or something.
I am really curious what records others bought from him. I bought 3 copies of Herbalist as he mentioned that he has 5 of them. How many more did he sell?
Ites!
Royal Eastern Connection Thursdays 22 - 24 GMT +1
www.webradio.ombilikal.org
iriedaily
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Unpronounceable, BE

Postby ephteeay » Fri Sep 15, 2006 7:50 am

well.. i am sorry if i am wrong..

but ...

soufriere sold hundreds (possibly thousands of dollars of records on other boards... used his personal problems as an excuse for the delays & for not sending the items ever..)

he disappeared from the other boards & started selling on other boards (such as this one) - if he had any 'problems', wouldnt he first try to sort out the other sales he had not completed?

also.. if he was unable to complete the sales to due 'problems' he shouldn't have started selling again.

it seems to me the only reason he was around was to steal money from more people.. he was here everyday, he disappeared when those other guys from the other board found him..

why did he not use his personal problems excuse on those people from B & F who bought from him? since he supposedly had those 'problems' from months or years back, what made him think he would be able to go through with the sales on a new board?

trust no one but fox mulder

p.s - i hope im wrong & that all of you people who have bought things from him, receive them eventually!!
ephteeay
 
Posts: 5202
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:01 am
Location: in the rain

Postby quadruped » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:19 am

I hope you guys are wrong about soufriere1. Back in August he asked on this board whether anyone had a copy of an LP called "Changes" by a UK-based reggae band called "Starbound". This is quite an obscure LP and probably quite rare, though I don't think it is all that well-known by collectors.

Anyway, I happened to have a copy and I didn't particularly rate the LP so I made an agreement to trade it with him for some Johnny Osbourne rarities. He wasn't even specific about what Johnny Osbourne records he was going to send me but I figured I might as well trust him to send me something interesting. I posted off the LP to him and shortly afterwards I became aware that he is somewhat notorious for his unreliability. There is a long thread on soulstrut.com about him, with several people reporting bad experiences in dealing with him, while others speak up in his defence. He is no longer replying to my emails so I now think it is unlikely that I will receive anything in exchange for the record I sent him.

My own fault for trusting someone I knew nothing about, but he seemed knowledgable and willing to share information (forever posting label scans of rare 45s etc) so I didn't see any reason to mistrust him. I will reserve judgement for the moment but the fact that he disappeared from this board and stopped responding to emails does not look encouraging.
quadruped
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby skunkride » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:48 am

quadruped wrote:I made an agreement to trade it with him for some Johnny Osbourne rarities. He wasn't even specific about what Johnny Osbourne records he was going to send me but I figured I might as well trust him to send me something interesting.

Thats very strange way of doing things...trading a record without knowing what you'll get in exchange ? He can as well send you some Techniques represses, Johnny Osbourne autographed postcard or anything else... :shock:
skunkride
 
Posts: 5788
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:30 pm
Location: South side, Tel-Aviv

Postby quadruped » Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:00 am

Thats very strange way of doing things...trading a record without knowing what you'll get in exchange ? He can as well send you some Techniques represses, Johnny Osbourne autographed postcard or anything else...


Well, in retrospect I could have asked him to be a little more specific about what Johhny Osbourne discs he was going to send me. But soufriere1 was knowledgable about reggae. I would expect him to know that Techniques represses are not rare. A Johhny Osbourne autographed postcard would actually be a cool thing to own. I think I would've settled for that.

Anyway, it now seems likely that soufriere1 never had any intention of sending anything at all, so it seems pointless to argue about the degree of rarity of the records that he is not going to send me.
quadruped
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby skunkride » Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:43 am

Strange thing what happened with this guy, soufriere AKA kevin from canada...for a while he was all over the place, posting pics of rare records, offering stuff for sale & showing lots of nowledge...now he seems to run off with people money...strange as he always made an impression of serious & honest person.

Maybe i'm wrong but it looked like some canadian baffers know him personally or dealt with him in the past ? Also the prices he was selling at wasn't cheap, untypical for a man who intend to run away with the money...my guess is thats he's a usually trustable person who got into hard times (no job ?) so he keep people money maybe thinking he would sort everything out when times would get better...i saw people who got into hard economical situations acting like that. Anyway i sure hope that things would get sorted out with him !
skunkride
 
Posts: 5788
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:30 pm
Location: South side, Tel-Aviv

Postby ephteeay » Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:04 am

true skunk.. ive known a few junkies who were like that.
He would still deserve a kick in the teeth though..
ephteeay
 
Posts: 5202
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:01 am
Location: in the rain

Postby Jack Johnson » Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:13 am

In my experience from years ago dealing with him, he took AGES to send the stuff and i always got pissed off waiting, but then the records would miraculously arrive in the post without him sending any reply emails. Not a straight up crook but unreliable. hopefully you'll get your tunes eventually (gave the impression of an over-herbalist if you catch my drift!)
!! some serious ROOTS THRILLERS up now !! -
http://shop.ebay.co.uk/45-juggler/m.html
Jack Johnson
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: London

Postby quadruped » Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:18 am

strange as he always made an impression of serious & honest person.


This is true. His contributions to the board made him seem like a serious and knowledgable collector, not your typical con-artist.

I believe he traded on eBay as 12highpockets and his feedback was OK until latterly when he began getting an increasing number of complaints about slow delivery times and some negative feedback from buyers who never received their items.

http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.d ... ighpockets
quadruped
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby staxawax » Fri Sep 15, 2006 4:16 pm

don't know what's up with k. ( he's in t.o. , i'm in m.t.l. )

hope he's o.k....


m.
staxawax
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 1:56 am
Location: earth

Postby rankin » Fri Sep 15, 2006 5:48 pm

from my experiences hes been ok, and sent me a free copy of a killer johnny osbourne 7'' aswell for being a bit late on sending my package
rankin
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:43 am

Postby skunkride » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:03 pm

rankin wrote:sent me a free copy of a killer johnny osbourne 7'' aswell

Here is your Johnny Osbourne record Quadruped :wink:
skunkride
 
Posts: 5788
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:30 pm
Location: South side, Tel-Aviv

Postby I-wan » Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:46 am

So now he's changed his user name on ebay???
Does he go by the name of totalsoundz?

Check out the high bidder on this one.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Rare-Soul-heaven-E- ... dZViewItem

Hmmm, I only won a LP for $15 US so my losses (don't know at this point if they are) would be relatively minimal.
I-wan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Canada

Postby ephteeay » Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:58 am

yes totalsoundz is him.. i think there were other usernames too.. very obvious though from the photos (at that angle), the descriptions & grading
ephteeay
 
Posts: 5202
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:01 am
Location: in the rain

Postby peter » Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:54 am

Sorry to see this thred on BAF and that this guy is still stealing money from music lovers. I too was ripped of by this joker. Maybe two years or so ago when he was calling himself 12highpockets. This guy Kevin is nothing but a con artist. It was "only" £20 but the way he did it really pisses me off. I thought he was a nice man but he is a liar. Do not trust anything this guy says and do not give any money
peter
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:28 pm

Next

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests